Traveler Reviews


Wondering what it's really like to stay at The Modage? We're sure you'll be impressed by the quality of this beautiful Vancouver rental house, but our guests are our best reference. Here's what some of them have to say...

We had an amazing time!

Guests: Dave and Christine
Date of Stay: 11/02/02
We had an amazing time at The Modage. My wife and I did tons of research on vacation rentals in the Richmond/Vancouver region and decided to take a chance with The Modage after reading all the positive reviews. Our choice did not disappoint as it exceeded all our expectations. Lesley and Shanna were amazing to do business with and provided fabulous service from start to finish. The house was in immaculate condition and felt like a vacation home to us rather than the typical hotel/suite environment. Our kids and extended family had a wonderful time. We'd definitely stay again in the future. Thanks!!!

Just Beautiful

Guest: Ann
Date of Stay: 11/01/10
You have a fantastic home and such a great neighborhood. We walked everywhere. We have rented with VRBO many times and this is the first rental that has exceeded my expectations. We have found our base camp in Vancouver!

Fantastic house

Guest: Anne (Athens, GA)
Date of Stay: 10/03/10
Fantastic house in a fantastic neighborhood!!! Look no further, this is where you should stay. The house is in great condition. Extremely clean. Well decorated. Great bedding and towels. etc A+ We walked everywhere. There's even a playground a block from the house for the little ones. This will be our "new home" on future trips to Vancouver.

Relaxing home close to everything

Guest: arabella09 (San Antonio, Texas)
Date of Stay: 09/25/10
My family just returned from a wonderful trip to Vancouver. We spent four days in Victoria and then six days in Vancouver at the Modage. The Modage was very clean and new with great amenities. The modern kitchen had every convenience and a great coffee maker. The furniture was comfortable and well appointed and the owners have decorated the house with an artistic eye for detail. It felt more like we were guests in a lovely private home then staying in a sterile rental house environment. The house had nice perks like wifi, fireplace, and cable tv too. The owners have also supplied tons of travel books, local magazines, restaurant reviews, maps and brochures to help you plan each day in the city. It was on a quiet street but you could hear some traffic from nearby Burrard. We slept with the windows open due to the lovely Fall temperatures and didn't have too much outside noise. We appreciated the washer and dryer and the two full bathrooms and powder room downstairs were very convenient. We actually used the downstairs office/den as a nursery for my one year old daughter. It didn't have a door, just a heavy curtain so consider that if you are thinking of using it as an additional bedroom. We rented a crib and toys from Wee Travel, owned by the same ladies who rent the house. It was very convenient and the products were clean and well cared for. We rented a car since we were traveling with the baby. There was always street parking out front and a reserved spot in the back. You certainly don't need a car to get around the city as the house is centrally located near Kits and less than a block from Burrad and it's bus line into downtown. We walked to Granville Island, Broadway and Granville shopping/restaurants and 4th Street shopping district in Kitsilano. The IGA grocery and Greens market were a few blocks walk from the house. We also walked to Vij for dinner, after a suggestion from Shana, we actually walked right up to the restaurant at 8:30 and were seated in less than 5 minutes (while grandma watched the baby at home.) Also try Zest on 16th for great traditional/fusion Japanese fare and Hapa Izakaya on Yew street for fun Japanese bar food. If you have any interest in the First Nations history, check out the Museum of Anthropology at UBC. Our last few days were spent around Stanley Park, the Aquarium, the seawall and parks. Check out the Cardero Bottega deli near Denman for amazing gourmet take out sandwiches and Chau on Robson for great Vietnamese fusion.

Wonderful House!

Guest: Carla (California)
Date of Stay: 08/15/10
If you have the opportunity to rent this house, don't hesitate. The location is ideal - it's on a quiet residential street, but is a short walk to great shopping and restaurants; Granville Island is just a 20 minute walk away. Our family of 4 (including 2 teens) fit comfortably in this nicely decorated, well-appointed house. The owner is very nice and really cares that you have a good stay. If we ever return to Vancouver we will be sure to rent this house again!

Vancouver at its best

Guest: McQs (Oklahoma City, OK, USA)
Date of Stay: 08/01/10
We had a fantastic 2 weeks in Vancouver making the Modage our home base. The home is a great location, very well appointed and close to all forms of public transportation, bike paths, and major sites. Lesley and Shana helped us with suggestions of all manner - summer camps, bike rental locations, restaurants, the works. We would definitely return to Vancouver and stay at the Modage! We were a family of 2 adults and 2 kids and 2 aunts/uncles joined us for part of the time.

Perfect base for our visit to Vancouver!

Guest: Shelly (California)
Date of Stay: 07/30/10
With three young children, this townhouse could not have been better located for our visit--we were able to just leave the car parked and walk everywhere--Kits beach, breakfast, cafes, groceries (great natural market even), parks, and even False Creek Ferry to Granville, which was so much fun. The house is lovely and was very comfortable for the 5 of us--more spacious than we expected. Baby gear provided by Wee Travel was also a big help. Highly recommend it for families!

Summer stay

Guest: Dutch (The Hague, The Netherlands)
Date of Stay: 07/08/10
Great house to stay in with a family of 4. We enjoyed every part of the house with its small front yard. Everything is very well thought of and the furniture and colors match well together. A nice combination of modern and cosy. We felt at home right away.The kids enjoyed the playgrounds of the neighborhood school. Kitsilano is a great part of Vancouver to spend some time. From here we visited most of the city, by foot, cab, bus, boat and so on. We loved every bit of it.

Charming

Guest: Ellen
Date of Stay: 07/01/10
We had a lovely time at the Modage and in Vancouver. You did a charming job of design and decorating the house; I loved all the touches of whimsy throughout. And although in the end we didn't take advantage of it on either end, it was wonderful of you to be flexible on check-in and check-out times.

Wonderful retreat

Guest: Ruth
Date of Stay: 07/01/10
The Modage was a wonderful rental - and I have had a lot of experience with renting in San Francisco when my husband and I have visited our son and his family. I particularly appreciated the fact that the space was very clean, very livable, and well provisioned. It was so inviting and interesting and allowed the three of us to share quality time together as well as to have our own private retreat when we needed it.

Great location, clean and tidy

Guest: Calgary (Calgary)
Date of Stay: 06/16/10
We really enjoyed our stay at this property. It is clean, quiet, well maintained and tidy. The owner is accessible and able to deal with any questions or issues. The location is unbelievable -- walk to Kits Beach, Granville Island, and the shops/bars/restaurants along Broadyway, Granville and 4th. It can sleep up to 6, but 4 is more comfortable. Child friendly. Try out Vij's for great, contemporary Indian cuisine, only 4 block walk at Granville and 11th. I would recommend this rental to anyone.

Fantastic vacation rental with all the comforts of home

Guest: Anonymous (New York, NY)
Date of Stay: 05/30/10
Decor was beautiful with whimsical touches. (Pictures and features provided by the owner are accurate.) Kitchen was well equipped which was convenient since we had a toddler. Bathrooms were clean, beds were comfortable and there was plenty of closet space. And the little added touches were a plus -- toiletries provided, guidebooks and even brandy for a nightcap. This was a great location -- close to Granville Island, sightseeing in Vancouver and many restaurants and shops in the area. It was also great knowing that we could go next door if we had any questions or problems. My family and I had a wonderful time here and would stay again!

All the comforts of home in a great location

Guest: Monsieur Jared (Winnipeg)
Date of Stay: 05/23/10
This was absolutely ~perfect~ for us! With 3 adults and 1 toddler, having all the conveniences of home such as a fully equipped kitchen, laundry and 2 1/2 baths was simply perfect. The townhouse is beautiful and welcoming, and we felt right at home. The gas fireplace was a favorite with the little one, and the gas cook top was a favorite for the Dad/cook. Everything was brand-spanking new, wonderfully decorated, and lovingly taken care of. There are several great parks for the kids very close by. Also within walking distance are the local IGA, Kits beach, great shopping on Granville, easy access to public transportation, and wonderful restaurants (Check out the Noodle Box!) The tire swing in front of the house was unbeatable for the little one too. Our stay in Vancouver couldn't have been what it was without such a wonderful home-base. The folks next door are available if anything goes wrong (they fixed a stuck front-door within 10 minutes!) and are top-notch folks. Thanks for a wonderful stay, -Jared

Vancouver Vacation at Kits Townhouse - April 1-5, 2010

Guest: Christina W (Calgary, Alberta, Canada)
Date of Stay: 04/01/10
We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at the townhouse. It accommodated 3 generations of our family comfortably. The location was great - easy access to various venues of interest and walking distance to great restaurants. The house was well-maintained and equipped with everything we needed. We enjoyed the funky decor - particularly the teapot chandelier. We'd stay there again and would recommend it to others.

Everything you could want

Guest: Cindy Dunn (Toronto, Ontario )
Date of Stay: 01/24/10
Great location, and very comfortable accommodation. 1813 West 11th has everything you need to have a luxurious, carefree getaway in downtown Vancouver. Close to all amenities while experiencing a lovely Kitsilano neighbourhood. We will be back, and will recommend to friends!

Stunning!

Guest: Anonymous
Date of Stay: 12/07/09
This townhouse is even more beautiful in real life. It is perfectly located. We walked to the beach every day. The decor is beautiful and it's bright and cheery and spotless. The beds were really comfortable. We loved the service. The owner offered to do a shop for us before we arrived and the fridge was fully stocked with everything we needed. There were 5 of us and we all felt like there was enough space. The manager lives next door and was full of ideas of where we could take the kids and good place to eat, etc. She really knows Vancouver. Apparently it is often used by movie people and I can see why. It's in the best location in the city and it's beautiful. We will be back for sure.

It doesn't get better than this!

Guest: Benjamin2 (Toronto, Ontario)
Date of Stay: 12/07/09
Absolutely stunning. Everything was first rate. Spotless and the location is amazing. We will be back!

Definitely stay there again!

Guest: The Johnsons (BC)
Date of Stay: 12/15/09
The Modage condo was perfect for our Christmas family gathering. It also has a great location for enjoying Kits (desirable location in Vancouver) has to offer. The condo was very quiet, comfortable and roomy for the two of us and for those who came over during Christmas . We enjoyed the art and the fun decor.

Reservations

For reservations or inquiries in advance of your stay:
Lesley: 416.737.1622
Email: lesley@weetravel.ca

Concierge

For assistance or inquiries upon arrival at The Modage:
Shana: 604.649.6766